THE NEXT BEST THING BLOG HOP

Hi there!

Although this blog hop has ended for me, I recommend them as a great chance to acquaint yourself with new authors or visit those whose books you enjoy.

The answers to my Ten Interview Questions for this hop were:

1. What was the working and final title of your book? My titles are approved by the publisher before I write, so the title of my novella was always Time To Be King.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book? The idea was sparked by Tears Of The Dragon, my male/female erotic romance. This is the sequel to that story.

3. What genre does your book fall under? Romance, with subgenres of Medieval, fantasy and shapeshifter.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? I could see someone like a blond Russell Crowe (think Robin Hood) as my knight-dragon prince and a brunette Brad Pitt as his knight lover.

5. What is the one sentence synopsis of your book? A dying dragon king, the shapeshifter knight-prince destined to succeed him, and the risk he takes with the choice he must make.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? Neither. This gay erotic romance is available now from my publisher. Click on the Excerpt link on the bar above.

7.  How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? Because I don’t write novel length, I don’t do drafts. I write and edit as I go. It takes me three months to polish 16,000-39,000 words.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Christine Feehan’s shapeshifter Carpathian series (although they’re male/female romances).

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?  A full page illustration in Realms of Fantasy magazine inspired Tears Of The Dragon. A lovely, mythical princess and her entourage were riding through a field of flowers, and I wanted in the worst way to write about her; to capture in words the magical quality and my feelings. I have no idea why I made her a dragon princess who, in human form, falls in love with a knight. Time To Be King is the story of their little shapeshifting son, whom, as a mother of sons, I fell in love with. Now he’s all grown up… first knight to the earl who rules the fantasy kingdom of Ahnerion.

I also wanted to express what it feels like to be different and forced to keep secrets on pain of death. The theme is also about making choices.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? If you like strong characters who love fiercely and fight for honor, kingdom and family, plus a story with action, adventure and a touch of betrayal, you will like Time To Be King.

Note: You must be eighteen or older to purchase my stories.

Happy reading!

Carolina

Cover to TIME TO BE KING

A dying dragon king, a shapeshifting prince, his human lover
7 thoughts on “THE NEXT BEST THING BLOG HOP

  1. Your inspiration for the original story sounds great. I’ve never used visuals before I plot but can see how they’d be important for fantasy. Your cover for Time To Be King is stunning and the story sounds emotional. Good luck with sales.

    Like

    1. Such high praise, Linda! Thank you. Right now I’m stuck on Speakeasy Spy, because I can’t “see” my characters. My setting is Chicago in the days of bathtub gin, gangsters, jazz and the Charleston. A great time period to write about, but my characters are hiding from me. Maybe if I immerse my self in the speakeasy my characters will come to life.

      I enjoyed your ten question answers. You are so prolific!

      Like

  2. Robin emailed, “Carolina, i love the chessboards…this may be a really dumb question but do you play? i’ve been playing for eons! happy holidays, Robin ps: like your blog, too”

    No, I don’t play chess, and it isn’t a dumb question. I think you have to be more spatial than I am for the game to make sense. I chose this header from WordPress because I loved the bright, cheerful colors. My older blog had a black background and some rich tones, but my current designer and I were unable to get into it to update things. The original designer had passed away, and when Blogger got swallowed up the password was forever lost. Thanks for the comment. I hope your holidays are joyful.

    Like

  3. Thanks for having me at the Next Best Thing Blog Hop

    I am enjoying reading your blog, your new story Time to Be King sounds great
    take care
    Chloe Waits

    Like

Leave a Reply

