MY FAVORITE CAKE RECIPE

Somehow I lost the post of this recipe, so here it is. At least fifty years ago, the recipe was submitted to the U.S. Navy Commissary Stores in San Diego, CA by a friend of my mother’s. I still have the faded orange card it was printed on. Once I married it immediately became a favorite in my own family, and any time I think I’ve lost it I feel abject terror. It makes a three layer cake, but I rarely do three layers. I fill two 8 x 8 square pans and have enough for a small loaf pan. It makes a huge amount of icing.

I used to dread grating the carrots–it’s our oldest child’s favorite birthday cake–but now an electric food processor makes it easy.

CARROT CAKE            Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit about 40 minutes

Mix together 2 cups self rising flour, 2 cups sugar, 1 teaspoon each cinnamon, baking soda and salt.

Add 1 1/4 cups Mazola corn oil, 4 eggs slightly beaten and 3 cups grated carrots.

Stir it all together until well mixed. Spray pans with vegetable spray. Divide into three equal size pans or two 9 x 9 cake pans or two 8 x 8 square pans.

ICING

Cream together 8 ounces cream cheese, 1 stick (quarter pound) margarine or butter. Stir in 1 pound box or bag of powdered sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla, 1/2 cup shredded coconut, 1 cup chopped nuts (my family likes pecans). Spread icing on cooled cake with a spatula.

ENJOY!

2 thoughts on “MY FAVORITE CAKE RECIPE

  1. I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles
    or weblog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo
    I finally stumbled upon this website. Reading this info So i’m satisfied to express that I’ve a very just right uncanny feeling I came
    upon just what I needed. I so much undoubtedly will make sure to
    do not fail to remember this website and give it a glance on a relentless basis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

