NIGHT TRAIN SERIES – HOORAY!

MLR, the man-love-romance press, has picked up this series. And I’m on a roll! If you recall,  Savage Lust, a 5k short story prequel to the series, was free. Since it chronicled what Alexandros was like as a young man and how he was turned into a vampire, it’s been added to the opening story—Night Train To Naples. It also contains his character arc.

I think I speak for all the former Amber Quill Press authors when I express the loss we feel that we’ve not only seen our books disappear, but all the online friendships we formed over the years are going as well. Christiane France set up an AQP Alum Yahoo group to share tips and support each other. Some have decided to self-publish all their AQP stories and a few have stopped writing altogether because it seems so daunting. Others, like me, refuse to give up. As I approach new publishers I’ve found it helps to mention that my stories have placed or been finalists in romance contests. Mentioning that some have been top sellers on All Romance eBooks is a boon, too.

As I re-read my stories, it comes to me how good they are.

“So why aren’t more people reading them?” I asked my husband.

“Could be you’re just a little prejudiced?” Clever man.

We had a good laugh over that.

This has been a tough year. The El Nino expected to relieve California’s drought didn’t materialize, Amber Quill Press closed, Spieth choked on the last nine to fall short of the green jacket at the Masters, and Kobe Bryant retired from the Lakers. . .”My body has given all it can to the game.”

Well, my body’s not the same as it once was, but I am not giving up.

Have a wonderful week!

A word to the wise: DO NOT purchase the Night Train paperback so outrageously over-priced at $93 and $119 on Amazon. Authors received nothing from sellers like these, and, frankly, although I consider my books beautifully crafted, they are not worth that kind of money now and never will be.

Carolina
http://www.carolinavaldez

Leave a comment